Writing from my Dyslexicon

I don’t do poetry, so I wrote this (for an article I am working on) and just put space between each line and now pawning it off as poetry.  In it’s full Dyslexiconic state….

nina-page-3b
Drawing by Mean Dave from our book Once Upon An Accommodation: A Book About Learning Disabilities (you should buy it)

Lexicon means the vocabulary someone has.

As a  person with dyslexia, I have my vobulary that is influenced by my dyslexia, you might call it my dyslexicon.

I spent much of my life rejecting my dyselexicon but if I want to write I need to embrace it.

I have embraced it by letting go of the shame from my English teacher’s red pen.

Whenever I write, I know that I will spell something wrong and that my grammar will be inconsistent.

I know that no matter how carefully I proofread, I will always have mistakes.

I know that if I accept this shame then I will be stunted as a writer.

Coming to embrace that I can write but there will be mistakes and that is ok because that is part of my voice, has helped me to be open about my dyselxia online and put my voice out into the world.

Check out my book: Once Upon An Accommodation: A Book About Learning Disabilities

Leave a Reply

